Blekko is Slashing the Web

Posted on November 2, 2010

0


Google Instant search feature is getting on my last nerve.  It automatically thinks that the information I want is really what I want, when in fact it’s sometimes not relevant at all.

Now, Google had some competition…Blekko, it launched on Monday.   According to New York Times, their goal is to clean up the web search and the spam.  It’s like a human-checking browser but billion times faster.  It also weeds out content farms, sites like Demand Media, that already find popular sites and employ journalists for as low as $15 to $20 to write about it.


I’m sure I’m not the only who gets more results that I don’t need when I’m searching for something, but maybe this Blekko will help out.  CNN reported that Blekko uses a slashtags formula, thereby weeding out unrelated content and narrowing to specific ones you are looking for.

This new (or maybe it’s new to me) slashtag model, where users select where they want to get their information from by adding a slashtag, is the best idea yet for refining current search engines. 

Now, where do we draw the line? As consumers we are becoming more and more specific and providers are finding more ways to hack into our minds to solve our problems, but Blekko is technically having us do the search ourselves if you think about it.

Posted in: Blogs, Search Engines